New look for an Old Oak Bathroom Cabinet

pizap.com13575049573271IMG_0047

In my book, this would be considered a major redo project, but well worth it. I have wanted to redo the main bathroom for a long while now. Originally I intended to re-buy instead of redo. That doesnt sound frugal of me does it?

I looked for a vanity sink combo from Home Deport and other home centers: small ones, large ones, white ones, ones with shelves.   The ones that looked nice still cost hundreds of dollars and I didn’t want to have that expense right now. My 2012, was the Year of the Fridge and Stove.  The old oak look, while nice in this “before” picture was now worn and old-looking, it just didn’t have that fresh look.

pizap.com13575053562331

Plan B. My next solution was Rust-o-ulm Black Gloss paint I applied after a bit of sanding and lots of priming in grey.  I actually liked the grey(blue) primer and almost thought I would buy a similar paint and leave it that color. I was outvoted and the black color won.  I love the look. I added shiny new nickel knobs on the cabinet.

pizap.com13575051695891At Menards, I found the glass tiles on clearance. The colors in the tiles are perfect, mostly a blue-grey.  It only took a few sheets to apply on after smearing on the glue mastic. I added a few rows above the shower too to tie in that area. Let dry and later I used sanded grout to fill in the grooves. You really have to read-reread the sanded vs non-sanded grout and when to use either.  Basically to me, its about the width of the grout lines. For my glass tile sheet, sanded was the way to go.  Installation was easy, press into the mastic and adjust, no cutting around the outlet either. 

The most work was the painting, primer grey, two coats of black gloss and then addtional touch ups and then I painted the mirror black as well, so repeat all the same steps here.

The whole bathroom was welcomed in to 2012 with a fresh look.

About frugalhomehindsight

I have a a cabin heart. My frugal home often comes from hindsight and looking for ways to do better next time. This blog is from me-City Girl Chris and my adventures with my Country Man and with you all, fostering friendship like over the morning breaksfast table as neighbors with a good cup of coffe sharing the lastest news, things I like such as craft projects, family, I'm a mom, dog lover, sharing good cooking & baking recipes, and looking for the best frugal ways. Family * Friends* Food* Cooking* Crafts *DIY* Sharing and more What are your money challenges, Let's share and figure it out together
This entry was posted in House, Remodel, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

