Brunch Time Crustless Quiche

Crustless Quiche
pizap.com13628774465151
1 sm. onion, chopped
1 (4 oz.) can pieces and stems mushrooms, drained
1 tbsp. oil
1 (10 oz.) pkg. frozen chopped spinach, thawed and pressed dry
5 eggs, beaten
2 tbsp cream cheese
3 c. (12 oz.) shredded  Monterey Jack cheese
1/4 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. pepper
1 tsp garlic
Dash of other seasoning optional to taste
Bread crumbs

Saturday Morning and what to have for breakfast? I had to do bunch of things first so morning breakfast became lunch.  I still wanted breakfast. It is Saturday and it is a good day to have a nice morning breakfast. I wasn’t working, I was home, organizing the freezer and found the spinach had.  I took that out while surfing for a recipe to try; I found this Crustless Quiche one on Cooks.com and adapted it a bit.  First, I used my ninja mixer to chop the onion, mushrooms, garlic together. Secondly I put this into oil on in a large skillet until tender. Then I added the spinach, and cooked until excess moisture evaporates, cool.

Sauteed onions, mushrooms and getting the eggs ready

Combine eggs, cheese, soft cream cheese,  salt and pepper; stir into spinach mixture. Pour into a greased 9-inch pie plate. (I used a 8x 8 square glass baking dish)

Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes or until set.

Eat~ I made mashed potatoes and it was all very good.

Next time, I would add more cheese  and maybe even a little pepper jack to kick it up.  I like it with a kick, and this was mild.  Also, using my ninja, may have chopped the onions, and mushrooms TOO much.  You can tell this from the photo, you can’t even identify a mushroom.  I should have chopped the spinach more than the chopped spinach it said it was in the frozen box.

Also, I like crust on my Quiche. There I said it.  

I know you all were thinking, really why crustless Quiche?  I didn’t want to make a pie crust and I didn’t have a pre-made on hand. The crust, that’s really the best part now isn’t it? It is when I have pie. I have had Quiche with hash browns or some potatoes as the crust and that is good too, very good.  However, as another option this was lighter, and good too with the mashed potatoes on the side. 

About frugalhomehindsight

I have a a cabin heart. My frugal home often comes from hindsight and looking for ways to do better next time. This blog is from me-City Girl Chris and my adventures with my Country Man and with you all, fostering friendship like over the morning breaksfast table as neighbors with a good cup of coffe sharing the lastest news, things I like such as craft projects, family, I'm a mom, dog lover, sharing good cooking & baking recipes, and looking for the best frugal ways. Family * Friends* Food* Cooking* Crafts *DIY* Sharing and more What are your money challenges, Let's share and figure it out together
This entry was posted in Cooking- Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

