Strawberry French Toast with Whip Cream

Do you ever order Strawberry French Toast with Whip Cream when you go out for breakfast? If you are like me, then you don’t, opting for eggs or a something else off the menu.  Then you see the one person who did order French Toast, the wait staff carrying the plate of golden toast, covered in strawberries and whip cream, looking heavenly and you vow next time!  Or, you can make this at home. 

pizap.com13677595279281

  • 1 Cup Half and Half
  • 3 Eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon of honey (optional)
  • tablespoon of Bisquick or pancake mix
  • 6 slices of bread. I used white, it what I had and like it better than wheat.

Directions

In a medium bowl, mix together the half and half (I have used 2% milk, or even evaporated milk and its fine), Bisquick,  honey, eggs and vanilla.  I like mine sweeter so you can either add a dash of powdered sugar now or on top, once it’s cooked.

Heat skillet on medium heat, Place a pat of butter or oil in skillet.  When water sizzle on it, its hot enough, but not so hot as to burn the french toast.  Be careful, we don’t want to burn the toast. (not like when I was 7 and I’d burn the pancakes.)    Dip a piece of bread into the mixture, coat very well and place in skillet. Cook each side a couple of minutes until the egg mixture is cooked through and has a nice golden color to it. Repeat for other slices.

Take frozen strawberries, in blender, and pulse and add a dash of sugar.  This makes a liquid berry mixture, then  top a slice of French Toast with berries and whip cream (I used cool whip or you can whip your own), add syrup and powdered sugar  as desired. Yum

We had this for supper one night which made it even better!

About frugalhomehindsight

I have a a cabin heart. My frugal home often comes from hindsight and looking for ways to do better next time. This blog is from me-City Girl Chris and my adventures with my Country Man and with you all, fostering friendship like over the morning breaksfast table as neighbors with a good cup of coffe sharing the lastest news, things I like such as craft projects, family, I'm a mom, dog lover, sharing good cooking & baking recipes, and looking for the best frugal ways. Family * Friends* Food* Cooking* Crafts *DIY* Sharing and more What are your money challenges, Let's share and figure it out together
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

